Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Database Server Startup/Shutdown (Oracle 10g)
Database Server Startup/Shutdown [message #513880] Wed, 29 June 2011 18:51 Go to next message
chintu00
I am a developer and not a DBA, therefore the question is very basic.

I recently installed Oracle 10g on my windows Xp laptop.
It has become cosiderably slow since then. I want to start the database server only when I need it, and not everytime I start my laptop. Please let me know of a way to set this up. I looked around in OEM and did found a way.

Thanks in advance.

[Updated on: Wed, 29 June 2011 18:55]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Database Server Startup/Shutdown [message #513881 is a reply to message #513880] Wed, 29 June 2011 19:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Hello - if you look at your Windows services, you'll find several called OracleSomething that are on automatic start, change them to manual.
Regards, John.
Re: Database Server Startup/Shutdown [message #513882 is a reply to message #513881] Wed, 29 June 2011 19:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
chintu00
I wonder if that is the best option available.

So if I have start the database do I go back to the services and start them manually(there are more than one) ? of just logging to one of the Oracle client will start the services, I guess not.
Re: Database Server Startup/Shutdown [message #513883 is a reply to message #513882] Wed, 29 June 2011 20:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>So if I have start the database do I go back to the services and start them manually(there are more than one) ?
Yes

>of just logging to one of the Oracle client will start the services, I guess not.
OS Service must be started before you can start DB or listener.
Re: Database Server Startup/Shutdown [message #513884 is a reply to message #513883] Wed, 29 June 2011 20:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
chintu00