Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » What type of disk do you use? (10.2.0.4 / Sparc / Solaris)
What type of disk do you use? [message #459550] Mon, 07 June 2010 00:01 Go to next message
rleishman
In this thread I've been seeking help to benchmark Nested Loops joins.

One comment from @coleing was that placing Oracle data files on NFS mounts was a sub-optimal solution.

I'm a developer, not an infrastructure/network engineer, so am ignorant of this stuff. What are the options?

- Mounting the disk directly on the box might be tricky because the server has limited disk slots.
- So if it is going to be non-resident disk, what are the alternatives to NFS? I've heard of SAN, but have also heard that it can be prohibitively expensive.

What do you guys use for your multi-terabyte DBs?

Ross Leishman
Re: What type of disk do you use? [message #459584 is a reply to message #459550] Mon, 07 June 2010 05:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
From my experience the "NFS no-no" was definitely true in the days of slower networks, where Ethernet was still mostly 100Mbit but Fibre channel SANs were already on Gigabit or even 10Gb.

These days a lot of SANs use iSCSI anyway, so there is not *much* difference any more performance-wise between a "real" SAN and NFS.

Here is a paper with a comparison, including performance benchmarks, "5.2 TPCC and TPCH Results" seem to be the most relevant to databases.

We have a few of our "smaller" databases running with NFS storage, and from what I see there is not much difference between a 1Gb connected SAN and a mounted NFS partition with a dedicated 1Gb network link. So far we only had performance problems when something else was hammering the NFS server or the network.
Re: What type of disk do you use? [message #459587 is a reply to message #459584] Mon, 07 June 2010 05:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ebrian